Recipe / by Bindaas

“Tripura’s themes are religious devotion, forgiveness, relationships, kindness, truth, spirituality, patience and restoration. Her symbols are gold, silver and iron.  In Jainism Tripura is the great mother who lives in three metallic cities (gold, silver, iron) that represent the heavens, the air, and the earth (or body, mind, and spirit). She unites these three powers within us for well-balanced spiritual living that reflects good morals and proper action.

“Tripurasundarĩ (‘Beautiful (Goddess) of the Three Cities’) or Mahã-Tripurasundarĩ (‘Great Beautiful (Goddess) of the Three Cities’), also called oaśĩ (“Sixteen”), Lalitã (‘She Who Plays’) and Rãjarãjeśvarĩ (‘Queen of Queens, Supreme Ruler’), is one of the group of ten Goddesses of Hindu belief, collectively called Mahavidyas

 This week 9 curry pastes were made in 3 variations. Hot, Medium and Soft for the varying in Spiciness.  



Ingredients to Serve 4 people

Main Ingredient for this paste could vary from chickpeas, potatoes, cauliflower or fish

2 Cups Main Ingredient
2 Medium Onions
1 Bunch Coriander/Cilantro
1 Table Spoon Butter/Canola Oil/Ghee
½ Can of Coconut Milk
1 Bottle Curry Paste


Medium to High Flame
Heat the butter till it melts\ oil and add onions, 3 pinches of salt and sauté till onions become a little transparent. 5 minutes, keep stirring. Then add the entire bottle of Curry Paste.

Medium Flame
 Mix and stir till all the paste is completely integrated into the onions and tomatoes. Then add the main ingredient and mix for 1 minute. Add 1 full cup of water and one teaspoon of salt to the entire mixture and cover the pot. Boil

High Flame
And cook for 10 minutes

Low Flame

Open the pot and mix to make sure that the main ingredient is getting cooked. Depending on how you prefer the consistency of the curry, you can cook on low flame for another 10 minutes if it is a though ingredient like potato or chickpea. Pour the coconut milk and stir for not more than 3 minutes. Serve with chopped coriander sprinkled for garnish.


Lord Shiva annihilating Skanda, the messenger of love. 
Read full tale here 
Tithi : - Shasthi

The Moon has 16 kalas, or phases. Out of these 15 are visible to us and the 16th is beyond our visibility. The 16 kalas are: 1.Amrita, 2.Manada, 3.Poosha, 4.Tusthi, 5.Pusthi, 6.Rati, 7.Dhruti, 8.Sasichini, 9.Chandrika, 10.Kanta, 11.Jyostna, 12.Shree, 13.Preeti, 14.Angada, 15.Poorna and 16.Poornamruta.

  These 16 kalas are ruled by the 16 Nitya Devis. They are called Shodasa Nityas. They are: 1.Maha Tripura Sundari, 2.Kameswari, 3.Bhagamalini, 4.Nityaklinna, 5.Bherunda, 6.Vanhivasini, 7.Maha Vajreswari, 8.Shivadooti (Roudri), 9.Twarita, 10.Kulasundari, 11.Nitya, 12.Neelapataka, 13.Vijaya, 14.Sarvamangala, 15.Jwalamalini and 16.Chidroopa (Chitra). Out of these, the first one, Maha Tripura Sundari is the Devi Para Shakti herself, and hence the kala ruled by her is not visible to the normal mortals. Hence we see only the other 15 kalas or phases ruled by the other Nityas. In the Sri Chakra these 15 nityas are present in the innermost circle, and the Devi is in the central Bindu.